The Destruction of the World

June 12th, 2017     

The destruction of the world (Apocalypse) will take place in three stages.

  • 7 Seals
  • 7 Trumpets
  • 7 Plagues

The trumpets are all in the seventh seal.

The plagues are all in the seventh trumpet.


The seals are prophecies about the state of the world just before destruction will begin.

  1. False Christ
  2. War
  3. Famine
  4. Pestilence
  5. Great Tribulation
  6. Heavenly Signs
  7. Seven Trumpets

The above order (from the book of Revelation) is also present in Matthew 24.

The tribulation (persecution of Christians) is the Mark of the Beast test that God will put before the whole world.

When will the seventh seal be opened?

And this gospel of the kingdom shall be preached in all the world for a witness unto all nations; and then shall the end come.
– Matthew 24:14

This is also an interesting verse.

For when they shall say, Peace and safety; then sudden destruction cometh upon them, as travail upon a woman with child; and they shall not escape.
– 1 Thessalonians 5:3


The trumpets are the beginning of the destruction.

  1. The third part of trees was burnt up, and all green grass was burnt up.
  2. The third part of the sea became blood; and the third part of the creatures which were in the sea, and had life, died; and the third part of the ships were destroyed.
  3. The third part of the waters became wormwood (bitterness)
  4. The third part of the sun was smitten, and the third part of the moon, and the third part of the stars; so as the third part of them was darkened
  5. Locusts
  6. The third part of men killed (by the 200 million horsemen)
  7. Seven Plagues

You’ve probably noticed the repetition of the phrase “The third part”. This is clearly God at work here.

Jesus is still in heaven, and there is still mercy.

At the last trumpet Jesus will leave heaven, and probation is closed. No more mercy.

For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first.
– 1 Thessalonians 4:16


The plagues are God’s punishments on the wicked.

  1. Sores
  2. Blood seas
  3. Blood rivers
  4. Sun scorches people with fire
  5. Darkness
  6. Armageddon
  7. “It is done”, followed by lightning, rumblings, thunder, earthquake, and hail

The wicked are the ones that, despite all the warnings, have chosen a life without God (death in other words).


Jesus doesn’t come back until right towards the end (in the seventh seal), and the tribulation happens in the fifth seal, so this means we will all go through tribulation. No “rapture” for the church in other words.

God is destroying this world systematically so that we can all choose between a Life with God, or death. God is firmly in control.

The Bible is full of warnings for believers and non-believers alike, so don’t automatically assume that you are “safe”.

Seek God while He can be found…

Posted in Insight

Comments are closed.